Home > Health > Emotional Wellness & Social Support during Pregnancy

Emotional Wellness & Social Support during Pregnancy

Bookmark and Share

(Over the next few months, the Logan County Health Department is placing special emphasis on improving infant mortality rates. One effort is a series of articles on women’s health.)

Mental health is an important part of your overall health. If you worry about your safety or the safety of your family, please talk with your health care provider, social worker, or other mental health worker.

Logan County Health DepartmentFears may grow from not knowing what to expect from pregnancy or how pregnancy might affect your relationship with a partner. Getting questions answered and planning for a pregnancy often help to ease fears.

Having a baby can bring a couple closer together. But, having a baby never solves any problems that exist in a relationship and can make those problems more stressful. New parents need support from each other.

One in four women are in an abusive relationship. You are not alone. There is help. Abuse can be physical, sexual, verbal, or emotional. Abuse can lead to pregnancy problems.

Spending time with caring family, friends, and your partner is important before, during, and after pregnancy. This can help reduce stress as stress can increase the risk of an early birth.

Women who are not happy about their pregnancy or think their partner or family is unhappy about the pregnancy are more likely to be depressed. Depression may lead to poor eating habits and preterm and low birth weight babies.

For women with depression, counseling before becoming pregnant helps plan for a safer pregnancy. Some medicines for depression are not safe to take during pregnancy. Talk with your health care provider about any medicines that you are taking.

The Logan County Health Department asks you to encourage and help support a woman’s healthy choices. For more information, please call the Logan County Health Department at 405-282-3485.

Categories: Health
  1. September 5, 2013 at 7:03 am

    Hola! I’ve been reading your web site for a while now and finally got the courage to go
    ahead and give you a shout out from Porter Texas!

    Just wanted to tell you keep up the fantastic job!

  2. CLARA THOMPSON
    October 23, 2013 at 7:07 pm

    Hello, To all my fellow ladies out there who are still finding them selves of my old situation,my name is CLARA THOMPSON and i am here to tell you all about my life this is my testimony and the great experience i have had with life, i was married for good 15years with no issue(child) i was so worried my husband was getting furious i never blamed him because he was very patient with me since all this years,i needed help so bad i went to different hospitals to see what was wrong with my womb and why i cant give birth to my own baby.the doctors always confirm that i don’t have a problem,it hurts me deep when ever i see my friends breast feeding their own babies and also inviting me for their baby shower and naming ceremonies.i had no option i always attended hoping that one day i will blessed with my own child.my life was turned upside down i was ashamed of my self my mother was putting pressure on my husband to get another wife my husband declined because he truly loves me and wanted me to be the mother of his children,i needed help and had no where else to turn to.till a very good day when i was browsing through the internet i read about a spell caster that helps people to get their lover back win their money back,i never saw anything referring to the help of childlessness i just had to try this great spell caster,i contacted the spell and told him about my problem and he told me that my problem is very easy for him to handle i was shocked and thought maybe he is just trying to take advantage of my present situation,i gave it a thought and finally concluded on giving it a try.i did all the spell caster required and he told me to go and make love with my husband.this happen in June 12-2012 and i got pregnant i was so happy and this year February 22 -2013 i got my first baby girl (DISNEY) i was very thankful to this great spell caster for the great help he has rendered and for coming to my rescue when everything i had turned against me now i have my life back and my husband is so happy with me and he is telling me about having a another child for him as soon as possible.i want to use this medium or opportunity to tell all my fellow ladies who are going through my previous situation that all hope is not lost if you need the help of this great spell caster you can contact him via email extremesolutiontemple@hotmail.com or via phone number on:+2348052168467 you might just be the next to give your own testimony,

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Share Your Comments